Weathering the Storms of Life

Ahoy! The theme of my writing here on the Svbtle network will be from the perspective of a weathered captain who has been surviving the storms of startup life.

For nearly a decade I’ve been out at sea searching for my brave new world. There have been many storms along the way that have nearly wrecked my boat: I struggled in the developing startup ecosystems in Portland, OR several years ago. I was an outsider to the Silicon Valley elite startup world and desperately wanted to be on the other side of the wall. I’ve gone broker than broke a few times while bootstrapping. …But I’ve also reached some amazing shores: I was accepted to Y Combinator. I raised more than $2M from top VCs & Angels. I built a passionate community up to 2M registered users. I’m on the other side of that wall.

So here is where I’ll write my ideas, advice & lessons learned to help my fellow founders at sea. There is no bit of advice here that will serve as a clear treasure map to guide you all the way, but rather expect some navigational aids that will help you on your own unique journey.

“If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up the men to gather wood, divide the work and give orders. Instead, teach them to yearn for the vast and endless sea.” —Antoine de Saint-Exupery

For more of a feel for my style and what sort of stuff to expect from me here in the future, check out some of my recent writings elsewhere:

The Art of Raising Seed: You’re Either Hot or You Make Your Own Heat

More than Money. Matter.

Inspiring Others, At All Costs.

~

Sail well. @Bubs

 
53
Kudos
 
53
Kudos

Now read this

I’m Really Tired. It’s A Good Thing.

I had a VC tell me I looked tired, and they meant it as a bad thing. Like that somehow being tired, meant unambitious, or that I was giving up. That because I had been exerting myself, I for some reason wouldn’t continue to do so. I am... Continue →